I got a new toy…


I got up on Christmas morning walked in to my living room and there she was. Her name is SB-600, and boy! let me tell you she is something else. (By the way sorry that I have not been up on writing blogs I just haven’t had anything that I wanted to write about)

Back to my new SB-600 I’ll give you the specs on her.

Flash exposure control
i-TTL, D-TTL, TTL (film based), Balanced Fill-Flash, Manual
Guide number (at 35mm zoom-head position)
30/98 (ISO 100, m/ft), 42/138 (ISO 200, m/ft)
Flash coverage
Auto 24-85mm extendable to 14mm with built-in wide-flash adapter, Manual
Flash shooting distance range (in TTL auto flash mode)
0.6m to 20m (2 to 65.6 ft.) (varies depending on the ISO sensitivity, zoom-head position and lens aperture in use)
Power SW
OFF/STBY ON
Recycling time
Approx. 3.5 sec. with alkaline batteries
Number of flashes
Approx. 200 times with alkaline batteries
Creative lighting system
A variety of flash operations are available with cameras compatible with CLS: i-TTL mode, Advanced Wireless Lighting, FV Lock flash, Flash color information communication, Auto FP High-Speed sync, and Wide-area AF-Assist Illuminator
Display LCD
Segment type
LCD back light
LED type
Shoe-lock
One action lock
Power source
Four 1.5V LR6 (AA-size alkaline), 1.2V KR-AA (AA-size NiCd), 1.5V R6/AA-size Nickel, 1.2V R6/AA-size Ni-MH or 1.5V FR6/AA-size lithium batteries
Dimensions (W x H x D)
Approx. 68 x 123.5 x 90mm (2.7 x 4.9 x 3.5 in.)
Weight (without batteries)
Approx. 300g (10.6 oz.)
Included accessories
Speedlight stand (AS-19), Soft case (SS-600)
Optional accessories
TTL Remote Cord SC-29, TTL Remote Cord SC-28, Color Filter Set (SJ-1)

This came from Nikon.

Now this is my first ever Speed Light, and it’s a whole new realm of photography for me. I have a general idea how light works and how to balance it all out, but this is a high-powered strong light a lot of power for one man.  Now after playing with I decided I guess I would read the manual; I have a hard time understanding manuals I have to see, so I made a quick dash to Youtube what does Youtube NOT have? I mean really…

I started shooting bouncing light trying different techniques, different subjects, different modes, different power and different distances. As much fun as it was I actually learned a lot. Than I took it outside, not a single thing to bounce light off I’m going to master indoors than try outside. But if you can give me some tips I’ll take anything.

Heres some of the shots I got from the other day tell me which one you like the most.

 

Heres my make shift studio in my brothers bedroom…

 

 

 

 

Heres my camera with the new gear…

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I got a new toy…

  1. Pingback: Upgrade | Through My Eyes

Leave a Reply

